Concepts and definitions of Small Game in North America

Many times we think that just going to the store and buying the best compressed air rifle that we find in addition to practicing a little in our backyard, is all we need to go on a small game.

But this is not the case, we must first ask ourselves some questions and if we cannot answer them we must consult first before going hunting.
So here we have some to start:

Do we know at least which are the allowed pieces of small game?

Do we know that it is a protected species?


Let’s see some definitions on this topic:

What is the daily limit?
Also called hunting limit, it means the total amount of prey of a particular species that a person can hunt in a day, regardless of the time or frequency of that person’s hunt during that day.

What are the fur animals?

Animals with fur means raccoon, fox, coyote, lynx, skunk, tlacuache, and weasel.

What are the hunting birds?

It refers to the gorguera capercaillie, sharp-tailed capercaillie, pheasant, partridge (Hungarian), quail and crow. Note: For the purpose of this booklet, wild turkeys are not considered game birds.

What is the Harvest Information Program (HIP)?
It refers to a series of questions that people must answer before hunting any of the species of migratory game birds, including waterfowl, huilota dove and chochas. Registration in the HIP can be done with a license agent, by phone or online. Registration in the HIP is free. All hunters must have proof of registration in the HIP while they are hunting migratory game birds.

What does hunting mean?
Hunting or hunting means shooting, aiming and shooting, chasing, catching, capturing or killing any wild animal.

What is a migratory bird?
Migratory bird hunting refers to the following birds: huilota pigeon, chocha, agachona, chick sora and limícola. Water birds are also migratory game birds; the rules that apply to them are contained in another brochure. All migratory hunting bird hunters must have HIP certification (see above for more information on HIP).

What is the possession limit?
It refers to the total amount of prey of a particular species that a person can possess at a given time.

What are protected species?
Protected species refers to the following mammals, reptiles and birds that cannot be hunted, caught or taken without first obtaining the corresponding authorization from the respective authorities. Protected species cover all those threatened or endangered species. All game animals (including elk) that have a seasonal opening and closing, a hunting, size or possession limit are considered protected during the closed season.

What species are mammals?
The badger, the bat, the Canadian lynx, the puma, the flying squirrel, the North American hare, the pine marten, the American elk, the white or albino deer, the glutton.

What species are Reptiles?
Reptiles: black rat snake, bull snake, rattlesnake and yellow-bellied racer snake (blue);

What species are birds?
All wild birds (including songbirds and blackbirds) that are not specifically mentioned in the brochures on standards related to hunting, traps and migratory birds are protected.

What is a small game mammal?
Small game mammal refers to squirrels, rabbits and hares.

small game

What are unprotected species?
unprotected species refers to mammals and birds that can be hunted all year round, without limits or restrictions on hunting schedules and includes the following: starling, common sparrow, chukar partridge, common quail, opossum, skunk, weasel and all other wild animals not specifically mentioned in the brochures of standards related to hunting, traps and migratory game birds, and not listed as endangered, threatened or protected species (see the above list in “Protected species”) . A small game license is required for hunting unprotected species.

What are the water birds?
Waterfowl means ducks, geese, water chickens, coots and chickens.


Air Rifle Hunter
Air Rifle Hunter
Register New Account
Reset Password
Shopping cart